Face | by Sherman Alexie

Face

Face by Sherman Alexie
(Hanging Loose Press, 2009, 159 pages)

I love Sherman Alexie. He’s one of a select few authors whose work I will always pick up. During National Poetry Month I had placed this book on display but then couldn’t resist checking it out. Alexie’s poetry easily shifts between humor and poignancy. He doesn’t think you have to sacrifice one to have the other.

I ended up reading a lot of these poems aloud simply because Alexie’s style lends itself to wanting to hear his words spoken. Now it’s hard to resist going and picking up more of Alexie’s work because it felt like I finished Face too quickly. I’ve got What I’ve Stolen, What I’ve Earned waiting for me…

I highly recommend any of Sherman Alexie’s writing. If you do decide to pick up this poetry collection a few of the poems that I really enjoyed are: “Inappropriate,” “Vilify,” “The Blood Sonnets,” “The Seven Deadly Sins of Marriage,” “Scarlet,” “Song Son Blue,” “The Gathering Storm,” “Gentrification,” “Grief Calls Us to the Things of This World,” “Bird-Organ,” “Small Ceremonies,” “On the Second Anniversary of My Father’s Death,” “Size Matters,” and “Unauthorized.”

Leave a Reply

