Orphan Black: Helsinki | by Graeme Manson, John Fawcett, Heli Kennedy, and Denton J. Tipton

Orphan Black: Helsinki
by Graeme Manson, John Fawcett, Heli Kennedy, and Denton J. Tipton;
illustrated by Alan Quah
(IDW Publishing, 2016, 120 pages)

I read Orphan Black: Helsinki, a collection of 5 issues in a series written by Graeme Manson, John Fawcett, Heli Kennedy, and Denton J. Tipton, and illustrated by Alan Quah. It was pretty good. If I had not watched the first season of the tv series though, I might have been a little lost. Since I was already familiar with the premise and terms they use (e.g., “monitor” as the person who watches the clone), it made sense to me. The clones didn’t really look much alike, which was confusing at first. I didn’t know which characters were clones until one of them would say something like, “She looks just like me!” They do have different hair and clothing, but it’s easier to see on the tv series that the same actress is playing all the parts. No offense to Mr. Quah, but it would have probably taken a more realistic artist like Alex Ross to pull this one off. If you’re a fan of the tv series, I think you’ll like this one; I’d definitely check out the tv series first before reading this volume.

Leave a Reply

