Mama Tried | by Emily Flake

Mama Tried: Dispatches from the Seamy Underbelly of Modern Parenting

Mama Tried: Dispatches from the Seamy Underbelly of Modern Parenting by Emily Flake
(Grand Central Publishing, 2015, 192 pages)

I picked this up on a whim the last time I was at my public library and I’m so glad I did! I’m a new(ish) mom and at this point in my life it helps to find the humor in the world of early motherhood. Flake is a cartoonist whose work regularly appears in the New Yorker. Interspersed in this book are short essays and humorous comics on everything from the “decision” to conceive to teething and toddlers. I laughed out loud so many times while I was reading this that I kept my husband awake (when you have a 16 month old the only “real” time you get to read is before bed…).

I would certainly recommend this book to moms who have a few months (or years) under their belt and who can appreciate Flake’s commentary on how our society perceives what motherhood should be. I ended the book wishing Flake and I could commiserate over a drink together. I settled for just pouring myself another glass of wine 😉

Leave a Reply

