Fiction · Jean R · Mystery

X | by Sue Grafton

X (Kinsey Millhone, #24)

by Sue Grafton
(Marin Wood Books/Putnam, 2015, 403 pages)

X by Sue Grafton is the 24th book in the alphabet series that Grafton started writing in 1982. In X, private investigator, Kinsey Millhone, juggles three investigations. First, Kinsey is working through the files of her deceased fellow private investigator, Pete Wolinsky. He left a coded list of 6 female names. They are all related, but how? Second, Kinsey is hired to find a newly released convict. And third, Kinsey investigates the suspicious actions of her elderly neighbors who aren’t the upstanding citizens that they try to project.

Usually the titles of Grafton’s alphabet books are more than just a letter. For example, the first book was A is for Alibi. I’m not sure what the X stands for unless it is for two of the characters whose last name is Xanakis. I wonder if Grafton will have longer titles for novels, Y and Z. As I mentioned in an earlier review, I have heard that the last title will be Z is for Zero.

I enjoy the Kinsey Millhone novels. Some novels more than others. This novel was set in 1989. All of the novels have been set in the 1980s. It will be interesting to see if the novels move to the 1990’s before the series ends.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s