American Salvage | by Bonnie Jo Campbell

American Salvage by Bonnie Jo Campbell
(Wayne State University Press, 2010, 170 pages)

I can’t even tell you how long I’ve had this book on my to-read list but I finally got around to reading it and I’m so glad I did. American Salvage is a fabulous collection of short stories. The majority of the stories take place in Michigan (which is where I was raised). While the location of these stories appealed to me, it was the language and the storytelling ability of Campbell that drew me in. I really couldn’t get enough. At the end of each story I sat back and reflected a bit before moving on to the next one. I can’t wait to read more of her work!

If you’re looking to pick up a short story collection, or really just want to find something good to read, I would definitely recommend this title (which was also a National Book Award Finalist). I was going to offer a list of some of my favorite stories from the collection, but realized I’d just end up writing down the table of contents. If you can’t tell, I really enjoyed American Salvage 😉

Leave a Reply

