Award Winner · Drama · Fiction · Heather D · In the Library · Quick Read! · SCC Book Club

Clybourne Park | by Bruce Norris

Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris
(Faber and Faber, 2011, 210 pages)

Typically when reading a good novel the characters are well developed and the reader can feel as though they (the reader) are a part of story. For me it was difficult to become close to any of the characters in this play. I found myself continuously having to go back through the pages to try and figure out who was who.

This was the first time I have voluntarily picked up a play to read. I honestly have to say that I’m glad that I took the time to venture out of my comfort zone. It brought up some true-to-life controversial issues and I found it interesting see how it all ‘played’ out. I think I will stick with going and watching a live play performance as opposed to reading them.

You can also check out Julia’s review of Clybourne Park to see what she thought and to get a quick summary of the play.

Leave a Reply

