A Wrinkle In Time | by Madeleine L’Engle

A Wrinkle in Time

A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle
(Ariel Books, 1962, 211 pages)

Sadly enough, I had missed out on reading the classic A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle in my younger years. It was when my children were required to read it in school that I decided it was time for me to do the same.

These well-developed characters are interesting, determined, and brave which makes it impossible not to cheer them on throughout the book. Mr. Murry is a scientist who went missing while working on fifth dimension time travel. Meg, her brother Charles Wallace, and her friend Calvin, set out find her father and bring him home with the help of three very peculiar women. This book deals with time travel, space, other worlds, and magical creatures which is why I can see how it is intriguing to young readers. As an adult I found that there was so much more to the themes of this story. It relays wonderful messages: good over evil, it’s ok to be different, it’s ok to have faith, and above all, the meaning of unconditional love.

I would recommend this book anyone who has not yet read A Wrinkle In Time or maybe you would like to revisit this wonderful classic. I’m so happy that I decided to go on this magical journey. I just recently learned that this book is part of a series and I will be picking up the next book to continue on this adventure.

Leave a Reply

