Fiction · Graphic Novel · Kelly M

Batgirl Vol. 1: The Batgirl of Burnside | by Cameron Stewart and Brenden Fletcher

Batgirl Vol 1

Batman Vol. 1: The Batgirl of Burnside
by Cameron Stewart and Brenden Fletcher; illustrated by Babs Tarr
(DC Comics, 2015, 176 pages)

When I heard the writer of Batgirl, Gail Simone, was moving on, and that Batgirl’s image was changing from a dark, mature Batgirl to a younger, hipper Batgirl, I was skeptical. The old Batgirl always got good reviews, so I wondered why they were trying to fix something that wasn’t broken. After reading this volume, I’m still wondering. This Batgirl and her friends are young Millennials obsessed with their cell phones and social media. The development of the bad guys and their crimes is weak. It’s kind of like an episode of Scooby Doo. I did like the diversity in the book, featuring gay and Muslim characters and a character with a physical disability. With the emphasis on social media and youth, this is a good comic for a teen, but not for fans who enjoyed the darker Batgirl and villains of the New 52 series. I wanted to like this, but I guess I’m too old.

Leave a Reply

