Bubbles, Bubbles | by Kathi Appelt — Mama, Do You Love Me? | by Barbara M. Joosse

Bubbles Bubbles

Bubbles, Bubbles by Kathi Appelt; pictures by Fumi Kosaka
(Scholastic, 2002, 18 pages)

My reading life has changed a bit since having a baby back in January. Picture books are now a regular part of my rotation and they have the highest completion rate (shocking, I know). Even though my daughter hasn’t hit 5 months yet, early literacy is important and I’m doing what I can to try and raise a “reader.”

Bubbles, Bubbles is a book about bath time. The book’s nameless protagonist (along with her rubber duck and frog companions) gets ready for her bath. The book has bold and engaging pictures which will catch your child’s eye. Also, Appelt uses fun words and repetition to make for a lively reading experience. I got some giggles out of my daughter more than a few times with the ways I played with rhymes and exaggerated words.

Mama, Do You Love Me

Mama, Do You Love Me?
by Barbara M. Joosse; illustrated by Barbara Lavallee
(Scholastic, 1991, 27 pages)

Mama, Do You Love Me? exceeded my expectations. My daughter received it in a basket of books from her great grandmother and I just appreciated that it offered up diverse characters (a topic that has received a lot of discussion recently). The story is about a young girl who wants to know just how much her mother loves her. The daughter’s questions and the mother’s responses are sweet. Even when the daughter goes to extremes (what if I turn into a polar bear?!) her mother explains that even if she was scared or surprised there are no limits on the love she has for her daughter.

This book definitely lends itself for engaging your child throughout the reading. I’d echo the mother in the book’s sentiments and talk to my daughter about how much I love her (I promise I’m not being cheesy). A nice addition to a long line of books that highlight the love between parents and their children.

*Since the picture books we read are obviously going to be on the short side I’ll plan on combining reviews into a single post like you see here.*

Leave a Reply

