Lean In | by Sheryl Sandberg

Lean In

Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg
(Knopf, 2013, 228 pages)

I’ve been impulsively picking titles to read on my Nook for the past few months so when I saw that Lean In was available I decided to check it out. The book had been on my “to read” list for a while and I was curious to see what all the hype was about. Lean In is focused on what women can do to empower themselves in the workplace. A lot of it has to do with taking yourself seriously, finding your voice, and speaking up. Sandberg also touches on the fact that changes have to take place outside the workplace as well (for example, having a partner who will support you and take on more housework/childcare as you pursue your career). This was certainly a motivational book and I’m glad it received (and continues to receive) so much attention.

I didn’t necessarily find the book to be as impressive as I thought it was going to be. A lot of her suggestions were pretty straight-forward and seemed like they should be common sense, but I think that’s one of her main points. The things she recommends should be common sense, and yet they still manage to hold women back. I’m glad I finally got around to reading this book.

*Side note: I’m sad about the timing of this book review since Sandberg’s husband passed away suddenly over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

