Autobiography · Celebrities · Humor · Pop Culture/Entertainment · Sadie J

Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography | by Neil Patrick Harris

Choose Your Own Autobiography

Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris
(Crown Archetype, 2014, 294 pages)

I was first introduced to Neil Patrick Harris when he was Barney Stinson on the show How I Met Your Mother (I was a little too young for Doogie Howser). I absolutely loved the show, and will defend its ending, so I immediately picked up NPH’s autobiography. But this celebrity autobiography is far different than any other one I’ve read before. NPH styled his autobiography off the Choose Your Own Adventure books where readers got to choose where the story goes. NPH sticks to this theme throughout the read and breaking into a first person narrative only when recounting his HIMYM days. He even included clever back stories on ways his life could have gone if he had made different choices, such as working at a deli or being eaten alive by piranhas.

I was pretty boring and read the book straight through instead of following the Choose Your Own Adventure style. I just didn’t want to miss anything but it would have been pretty fun to jump straight to the parts I was most interested in. Although there were never too many in depth stories, I did appreciate the small peeks we were given into his personal and professional life.  I really enjoyed how clever NPH was with his writing and the contributions from other celebrity friends that were sprinkled throughout the read.

Leave a Reply

