Yes Please | by Amy Poehler

Yes Please

Yes Please by Amy Poehler
(It Books, 2014, 329 pages)

I was really excited when Poehler’s book was ready for me to pick up from the library. I think she’s hilarious and in my head I’m confident we’d be friends in real life – just because 😉 Poehler’s book is a collection of essays that reflect on her life growing up, how she entered the world of improv, Saturday Night Live, motherhood, through her involvement in the Worldwide Orphans Foundation. She’s an intelligent and accomplished woman and her book helps you appreciate that. There were parts where I laughed to myself, but I didn’t find it as entertaining and laugh out loud funny as Tina Fey’s Bossypants. That’s not to say it’s not worth picking up, because I did enjoy it. I just went into it expecting more humorous content to be at the forefront.

You can tell the publishers were excited about this title because the quality of the book is top notch. I’m sure the audiobook would be fun to listen to because the author and a number of other celebrities narrate. You should pick this up if you’re an Amy Poehler and/or SNL fan 🙂

Leave a Reply

