Essays · Non-Fiction · Sadie J · Women

Bad Feminist | by Roxane Gay

Bad Feminist

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay
(Harper Perennial, 2014, 320 pages)

Bad Feminist is a collection of essays by Roxane Gay that cover topics such as feminism and race in our culture and society today. She examines her feelings and insights on topics and explains why she is a self-proclaimed “bad feminist.” I really enjoyed this collection of essays for a multitude of reasons. I appreciated how Gay spoke about feminism and race through current pop culture crazes in movies (The Help and Diango Unchained), TV shows (Girls), and music (Robin Thicke and Chris Brown). Gay also speaks on sexual assaults and how they are handled in the media and the current issues in politics that we must be aware of.  I also appreciated how honest she was with her own background and how she isn’t the perfect feminist but at least she fights for women’s rights.

It’s been awhile since I read a book that has made me think and examine myself so much. There were parts I agreed with, parts I disagreed with, and parts where I had to step back and think ‘Am I wrong?’ It was a wonderful read and I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for more of Gay’s work.

Leave a Reply

