This is Where I Leave You | by Jonathan Tropper

This Is Where I Leave You

This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
(Orion, 2009, 352 pages)

This is Where I Leave You was this month’s book club selection (movie out this month) and that was my motivation for reading it but I did enjoy it and would recommend it. It was touching and funny and I often found myself relating to many of the characters in the context of their relationship to adult siblings and how family dynamics can evolve over time. At the same time, I felt that the behavior of the characters in some of the situations was a little over the top, but I guess that adds to the comedy. Overall, a good read.

You can also read Julia’s review of this title.

“The death of Judd Foxman’s father marks the first time that the entire Foxman clan has congregated in years. There is, however, one conspicuous absence: Judd’s wife, Jen, whose affair with his radio- shock-jock boss has recently become painfully public. Simultaneously mourning the demise of his father and his marriage, Judd joins his dysfunctional family as they reluctantly sit shiva-and spend seven days and nights under the same roof. The week quickly spins out of control as longstanding grudges resurface, secrets are revealed and old passions are reawakened. Then Jen delivers the clincher: she’s pregnant.” – Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

