Heroes Are My Weakness | by Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Heroes Are My Weakness

Heroes Are My Weakness by Susan Elizabeth Phillips
(HarperCollins, 2014, 384 pages)

Both Angie and I are fans of Susan Elizabeth Phillips – her romances are always well fleshed out and have good, solid story lines to go with them. Her most recent title, Heroes Are My Weakness is a bit different for her in that the story has a darker feel to it; she was inspired by classic gothic tales like Jane Eyre and Rebecca.

Annie, a struggling actress whose primary source of income now comes from puppeteering, has traveled to a small island off the coast of Maine to go through her family cabin following her mother’s death. Apparently there’s an inheritance of some sort hidden inside, she just has to figure out what it could be. Winter is well underway and Maine is not exactly known for being forgiving during this time. As Annie tries to figure out what “treasure” her mother left for her, she finds herself crossing paths with Theo Harp, her teenage love who she also believes almost tried to kill her. She does what she can to stay out of his way, but when she starts getting ominous threats he forces his way back into her world. Now the question is whether or not Annie should trust him and she’s torn between what her head and heart are telling her.

This was an entertaining read, but I didn’t get into it as much as I thought I would. I like some of Phillips’s other titles better and I think I was looking for a little more “romance.” If you haven’t read Phillips before I definitely recommend her – though you’ll probably want to start with some of her older titles to get a better feel for her as an author.

Leave a Reply

