The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe | by C.S. Lewis

The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis
(Harper Trophy, 2000, 189 pages)

I’ve reviewed the Chronicles of Narnia in the past. I’m currently reading them to my daughter, so I thought I’d let Adelaide (five years old) offer her comments after we finish each book. I asked her what she liked about The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and she seemed particularly impressed with Aslan the lion and the gifts that the Pevensie children received from Father Christmas. This is her response in full (it’s a bit cryptic, but I suppose there are some spoilers here):

“So, the first thing is that Aslan jumped right on the White Witch. Aslan freed all of the stone people. I liked Aslan because he jumped over stone walls, and I bet he could jump over a whole house. I also like the High Queen Susan because she has a horn and it sends people to the people that blow it. And I also like the High King Peter because I like his sword and his shield and that he killed the wolf. Also, I like the High Queen Lucy, and I like her cordial that she healed Edmund with. And I like the High King Edmund – oh, he didn’t get a gift because he was bad (listening to the Witch).”

I then asked Adelaide what she would say if someone told her that they were thinking about reading the book. She said,

“You should read it, they’re pretty good.”

Leave a Reply

