Fiction · Gwen B · In the Library

All Fall Down | by Jennifer Weiner

All Fall Down

All Fall Down by Jennifer Weiner
(Atria Books, 2014, 388 pages)

Overview:

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner:

Allison Weiss got her happy endinga handsome husband, adorable daughter, a job she loves, and the big house in the suburbs. But while waiting in the pediatrician’s office, she opens a magazine to a quiz about addiction and starts to wonder…Is a Percocet at the end of the day really different from a glass of wine? Is it such a bad thing to pop a Vicodin after a brutal Jump & Pump class…or if your husband ignores you?

The pills help her manage the realities of her good-looking life: that her husband is distant, that her daughter is acting out, that her father’s Alzheimer’s is worsening and her mother is barely managing to cope. She tells herself that they let her make it through her days… but what if her increasing drug use, a habit that’s becoming expensive and hard to hide, is turning into her biggest problem of all?

With a sparkling comedic touch and a cast of unforgettable characters, this remarkable story of a woman’s slide into addiction and struggle to find her way back up again is Jennifer Weiner’s most masterful work yet.

I’d never read any of Jennifer Weiner books but I was told that she was a pretty good writer. And I did see the movie version of her book In Her Shoes, which I thought was very good. So when I saw this was her latest book it sounded pretty interesting to me. I have to say I was impressed with her writing style and the subject sparked my interest as well. I have known a few people with prescription drug addiction and saw firsthand the struggle they had to deal with to overcome it.

Her story is compelling and well-written. I would love to know the type of research she did for this story because she seriously did her homework. Allison is real. She can be any one of your friends or neighbors; she could be any one of us. I traveled on her journey rooting for her to find a way to pull herself together and in the end, she did. It was not easy for her, though. Which in real life it’s not. I found it hard to put down.

This book gave me a completely new insight to addiction. I don’t understand how someone quits or why they relapse. I know it is fiction but it was really well written. It wasn’t a depressing book and she even had some very funny moments in it. While it’s easy to see how Allison’s life spiraled out of control, you can’t help but root for her recovery. I have to admit, I was a little disappointed with the ending. For a story that had so much intrigue throughout, the end was kind of blah. I can see myself definitely reading another one of her books, though.

Leave a Reply

