Fiction · Relationships · Sadie J

We Are Water | by Wally Lamb

We Are Water

We Are Water by Wally Lamb
(Harper, 2013, 561 pages)

Annie and Orion Oh were married for twenty-seven years and had three children together before Annie decided to leave Orion for a woman, Viveca, after moving to New York for her art. Now the family is set to come together once again for Viveca and Annie’s wedding but some of the Oh’s are having trouble adjusting to Annie’s new life. As they begin to gather on the east coast, Orion and their children, Andrew, Ariane, and Marissa, bring along new secrets while Annie continues to try and hide truths from her childhood.

I truly thought this was a fantastic read. I loved the family drama and how Lamb set up the story. The reader knows right away that Annie and Orion’s marriage fell apart and everyone is having a little difficulty handling it. But it isn’t until you get each character’s perspective that you realize how badly they are taking the new family dynamic. For me, the story just kept pulling me in from different angles and especially the cliffhanger Lamb sneaks in right in the middle of the story. I’m always curious how other readers enjoyed books and I like to see what their thoughts are. The consensus I got from the reviews I read is while this was a good book, it still doesn’t measure up to Lamb’s previous books She’s Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True. Since this is the first book I’ve read of Lamb’s, I can’t imagine it will be long till I pick up one of his past reads.

Leave a Reply

