Audiobook · Celebrities · Julia P · Memoir · Non-Fiction

A Story Lately Told | by Anjelica Huston

A Story Lately Told

A Story Lately Told: Coming of Age in Ireland, London, and New York by Anjelica Huston
(Scribner, 2013, 272 pages)

I wouldn’t say that I’m a huge Anjelica Huston fan but I was curious to read this memoir about her life. I didn’t realize it wouldn’t actually cover her life to the present (a second memoir is being published this fall) so that was a little disappointing. That being said, Huston lived in a very unique world. Her father was director John Huston who was responsible for such films as “The Maltese Falcon,” “The African Queen,” and “The Misfits.”

Raised primarily in Ireland it was interesting to get an inside look at what life was like as the child of a famous director. We also get a look at how she initially resisted acting after working under her father and decided to enter the world of modeling. Hearing her list some of the photographers she was photographed by made me request a number of books to check out their work. She also introduces the reader to her love life which started early and revolved primarily around older men… The book ends with Huston in her early 20s in California about to enter the Hollywood life.

There’s no question Anjelica Huston’s life was an interesting one, I just don’t think it came across well in the book. Perhaps when someone does a biography on her later it will be able to better capture her experiences. I didn’t feel really invested in her life or attached at all to any of the people she mentioned. The audiobook was narrated by the author which I thought would be a great way to “read” the book but I don’t think Huston did that justice, either. It really irked me when words were mispronounced (unless there are other ways of saying “turquoise” and “daquiri” that I’m not aware of).

If you’re a big Huston fan you would still appreciate this book. I might still pick up the memoir coming out in the fall because that will better highlight the parts of her life that I think most people will remember and want to hear about.

Leave a Reply

