The Selection | by Kiera Cass

The Selection

The Selection by Kiera Cass
(Harper Teen, 2012, 336 pages)

America Singer doesn’t even want to submit her name in the Selection to find Prince Maxon a wife. But with her struggling family and pressure from her mom and boyfriend, Aspen, she reluctantly agrees. Thinking there isn’t a chance for her to be selected, she is shocked when she is chosen. There are 35 girls competing to be the next princess but America is the only one who doesn’t want to win. America decides to befriend Prince Maxon during her time at the palace and it’s then that she starts to consider what the Selection process could bring her.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to think of this when I read that it was about 35 girls fighting to be the next princess. But I really like the America character. She stayed true to herself while everyone else around her was trying to be something they weren’t. Although I didn’t agree with all of America’s decisions, she kept the book entertaining and I honestly couldn’t put it down. I wish Cass wasn’t dragging out the Selection over three books because I can see where it might start to get to be too much. But I’m hoping America’s character really starts to develop throughout the series.

Leave a Reply

