Black and White (and a Bit in Between) | by Celerie Kemble

Black & White

Black & White (and a Bit in Between): Timeless Interiors, Dramatic Accents, and Stylish Collections
by Celerie Kemble
(Potter Style, 2011, 256 pages)

So apparently I’m on a decorating kick and this book was the first of many that caught my eye. I’m a big fan of neutrals, and can always be counted on to be wearing black so to say this book spoke to me is an understatement. The premise of Kemble’s book is to demonstrate that it is possible to decorate your home primarily using black and white (and grey – LOVE it!). I thought the way the chapters were broken up made sense as Kemble explained ways to work this color scheme into your home. The pictures were gorgeous and I definitely got a few ideas. Given that I have two cats and have a hard enough keeping my condo clean as it is, the idea of going as full scale with this idea as I’d want is NOT a possibility. But, Kemble does offer a few tips on how you can start small.

I enjoyed the book and while some of the ideas/photos were definitely above my price-point I took pictures of certain things as inspiration. There was also a great list of resources at the end of the book to let you know places to check out, and they ranged from high-end to what’s accessible to normal people 😉 I also appreciated that the last chapter talked about tips to keep your new black and white world clean – because with these colors keeping things in good shape is key. The only “issue” I had with this book is that I felt there could have been more tips/suggestions on how to make some of the highlighted looks your own. They were great for inspiration but I think there needed to be a practicality element to the book and I thought that was one of the key things that wasn’t as fleshed out as it could have been. But even with that, this book is great eye candy, especially if you like the black/white palette.

Leave a Reply

