Fight Club | by Chuck Palahniuk

Fight Club

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk
(W.W. Norton & Company, 2005, 224 pages)

This is the first book of the semester being discussed at SCC’s Between the Covers book club. I saw the movie when it first came out (and yes, I had a poster on my wall in college) and loved it. I normally don’t like reading books after I’ve seen a movie and while I was reading I had a hard time not visualizing Brad Pitt, Edward Norton, and Helena Bonham Carter, but that wasn’t a terrible thing. A lot of the dialogue from the book was kept for the film so that was fun. I didn’t think the book experience would be as “engaging” as the film, but I was wrong. It took a bit to get used to Palahniuk’s writing style, but when I got into the book I just wanted to keep reading.

While the book is slim and a page-turner, it’s not really something you fly through. Palahniuk’s writing doesn’t work that way and because of that I think I was immersed in the story quicker than usual. It’s hard to summarize, and I don’t want to give anything away so here’s my “tweet” version:

Our narrator is an insomniac. He feels he’s going nowhere in life. Things change with Tyler’s arrival. Live in the moment and fight to feel.

I definitely recommend the book and while it’s a very “masculine” book that doesn’t limit its appeal. If you manage to pick it up the book club is discussing it on February 26 at 2:30 in the LRC Information Commons. AND on Tuesday, February 25, the Fight Club film will be shown at 6:30 in the SSB Auditorium. Next week sounds like fun 😉

Leave a Reply

