Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) | by Mindy Kaling

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling
(Crown Archetype, 2011, 240 pages)

I’ve been an avid fan of The Office for years and shortly before Christmas break I ended up watching a marathon of the second season of The Mindy Project. I had heard Kaling’s book was pretty entertaining so I decided to give it a read. I picked it up after I finished Dark Places thinking it would give me a nice break before I started anything too heavy again. Too bad I read the whole book in just a day. Her writing is very easy to read and lets her personality come through in her various stories. It’s amazing how quickly things started to fall in place for her and how much she’s stayed the same, at least through a fan’s point of view.

I was a little disappointed with The Office chapter and I’m not even sure why. I guess I was expecting her to include different stories but she shared her most memorable experiences and overall comments on the series so I can’t complain too much. And this didn’t bother me but her thought process is a tad scattered, but that shouldn’t surprise too many of her fans. After finishing the book I watched some YouTube interviews and in one she mentioned that she’s working on another book focusing on losing her mom and her new T.V. show so I’ll definitely be looking forward to that when it comes out!

You can also check out Julia’s review of this book.

Leave a Reply

