Fiction · Gwen B · Relationships · Women

Firefly Lane | by Kristin Hannah

Firefly Lane

Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah
(St. Martin’s Press, 2009, 528 pages)

Overview:

From the New York Times bestselling author Kristin Hannah comes a powerful novel of love, loss, and the magic of friendship. . .

In the turbulent summer of 1974, Kate Mularkey has accepted her place at the bottom of the eighth-grade social food chain. Then, to her amazement, the “coolest girl in the world” moves in across the street and wants to be her friend. Tully Hart seems to have it all—-beauty, brains, ambition. On the surface they are as opposite as two people can be: Kate, doomed to be forever uncool, with a loving family who mortifies her at every turn. Tully, steeped in glamour and mystery, but with a secret that is destroying her. They make a pact to be best friends forever; by summer’s end they’ve become TullyandKate. Inseparable.

So begins Kristin Hannah’s magnificent new novel. Spanning more than three decades and playing out across the ever-changing face of the Pacific Northwest, Firefly Lane is the poignant, powerful story of two women and the friendship that becomes the bulkhead of their lives.

This book was recommended to me by a friend who said it was very good, so I knew I just had to read it. Also, I knew that Kristin Hannah was a good writer. I’d read some of her work before and had not been disappointed. I have to admit that when I started to read this, it really did nothing for me. I was wondering what did my friend read that was so fascinating about it? I even started to put it down, but for some reason, kept going back to it.  I am one that will always try to give a book a chance, plus I was determined not to give up on it because of how good my friend said it was, and I had to find out why. Well, let me tell you am I glad I kept on reading!! This turned out to be a very enjoyable read. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it brought back many of my own memories of growing up with my girlfriends over the years.

It’s about promises and secrets and betrayals. And ultimately, about the one person who really, truly knows you—-and knows what has the power to hurt you . . . and heal you. Firefly Lane is a story you’ll never forget . . . one you’ll want to pass on to your best friend. It’s a beautiful story of friendship, but also about other relationships including mother-daughter and wife-husband that are complex and fascinating.

It showed true to life struggles that we all can relate to; life’s journey of ups and downs, struggle and success, bonds and relationships, all to create an interesting, exciting read. I was pleased with the way the writer created many realistic situations that many of us are faced with in love, marriage, friendship, and motherhood. It was about two people who are so different and become best friends for life. It is about ambition, bonds, and broken hearts. Especially for women in their 50s who have had best friends and know about those unbreakable bonds. Big thumbs up! You won’t be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

