The Cassoulet Saved Our Marriage | edited by Caroline M. Grand & Lisa Catherine Harper

The Cassoulet Saved Our Marriage

The Cassoulet Saved Our Marriage: True Tales of Food, Family & How We Learn to Eat
edited by Caroline M. Grand & Lisa Catherine Harper
(Roost Books, 2013, 256 pages)

This collection of essays is broken down into three sections: Food, Family, and Learning to Eat. Each essays talks about the central role food plays in our lives in different ways, and in this sense it’s not just about nourishment but the connection it has to our families and our memories. There are a wide range of authors who contributed to this collection and accordingly all of the essays have a different tone – some are serious while others are funny and light-hearted. Regardless, each entry concludes with a recipe provided by the author as it pertains to what they wrote.

I really enjoyed this book and while there were some entries I liked more than others each one caused me to pause and reflect on things like what kind of food traditions I’d like to incorporate into the family I’ll have one day or what things I remember about my mom cooking for me and how those foods made me feel. I also felt the urge to cook and bake *every* time I set the book down. This was a pleasant read and I’m glad I stumbled across it.

Leave a Reply

