Cats! · Fiction · Jean R · Mystery

Hiss of Death | by Rita Mae Brown

Hiss of Death

Hiss of Death by Rita Mae Brown & Sneaky Pie Brown
(Bantam, 2012, 336 pages)

Hiss of Death by Rita Mae Brown and feline co-author, Sneaky Pie Brown, is the 20th book in the Mrs. Murphy Mystery series. In Hiss of Death, our heroine, Harry, is diagnosed with stage 1 breast cancer. As Harry is being diagnosed and treated for the disease, professionals from the hospital where she is being treated start dying. First, there was the OR nurse who may or may not have died from a hornet sting. The next two deaths are definitely murder. Harry being Harry feels the need to solve this murder mystery.

The Mrs. Murphy Mystery series is set in Crozet in central Virginia. Harry lives on a farm with her veterinarian husband (Fair), her Corgi (Tee Tucker), and her two cats (Mrs. Murphy and a Pewter). The Corgi and the two cats help Harry solve her mysteries.

I hadn’t read a Mrs. Murphy Mystery for a few years so I decided to read Hiss of Death to see what Harry and the cast of characters in this series was up to these days. I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed the earlier books. The animals didn’t seem to be as much help in solving the mystery. Or maybe it was the weighty subject of breast cancer that permeated the book. If you’ve read other books in this series, I would read this one. If you want to start reading this series, I’d start with one of the earlier books.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s