Fiction · Jean R · Mystery

V is for Vengeance | by Sue Grafton

V is for Vengeance by Sue Grafton
(A Marion Wood Book/Putnam, 2011, 448 pages)

Sue Grafton’s V is for Vengeance is the latest adventure of fictional private investigator, Kinsey Millhone. In V is for Vengeance, Kinsey is hired to investigate the death of her client’s fiancée. The fiancée’s death was made to look like a suicide, but was it murder? This novel involves a shoplifting ring, a gambler, a cheating husband, and a gangster all woven into a challenging case for Millhone Investigations.

Sue Grafton’s novels all begin with a letter of the alphabet. Grafton started with A and has now made it through V. Kinsey Millhone is Sue Grafton’s main character in all of the alphabet novels. The cases that Kinsey investigates have all taken place in the 1980s. The time period must present a challenge for Sue Grafton because she needs to make sure that the technology that Kinsey uses fits the time. For example, Kinsey has a telephone, not a cell phone.

V is for Vengeance immediately catches your attention and holds it until the end. The whole novel spins around Kinsey’s explanation of how she got a broken nose on her birthday. Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone series is varying degrees of good. V is for Vengeance is one of the better books in the series.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s